128GB RAM and 16 cores / 32 threads X9DAI

Discussion in 'Lion Desktop Support' started by lightninhopkins, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. Tutor

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    WolfPackPrime0
    CPU:
    4 x E5-4650s
    Graphics:
    6xGTX Titan Z Hydros
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, iMac, LC, Lisa, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 6, 2012 at 11:58 PM #71
    Tutor

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    WolfPackPrime0
    CPU:
    4 x E5-4650s
    Graphics:
    6xGTX Titan Z Hydros
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, iMac, LC, Lisa, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  2. lightninhopkins

    lightninhopkins

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Apr 7, 2012 at 12:17 AM #72
    lightninhopkins

    lightninhopkins

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    haha, awesome. I am not even in your league. I just slap together some parts and click mouse buttons to run apps :)

    I asked my vendor about the SR-X too. I'll find out how quickly I'll get those on Monday.

    I should have gone for the 150W CPU's, instead of the 2690 :(
     
  3. Pigumon

    Pigumon

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    4 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850 1024 MB
    Apr 7, 2012 at 9:55 AM #73
    Pigumon

    Pigumon

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3
    CPU:
    4 GHz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850 1024 MB

    That's insanely low! Are you running the 64-bit version of Geekbench?

    I've only got an i7 2600k at 4.0ghz with 16gb of ram and I'm getting over 16,000.

    It's gotta have something to do with not being natively supported yet...
     
  4. erik

    erik

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Mobo:
    Asus Deluxe Z97
    CPU:
    i7-4790k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 7, 2012 at 6:09 PM #74
    erik

    erik

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Mobo:
    Asus Deluxe Z97
    CPU:
    i7-4790k
    Graphics:
    GeForce GTX 960
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    iBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Phew. Make sure cpu states are off. and that you're running in 64-bit geek bench.
     
  5. lightninhopkins

    lightninhopkins

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Apr 7, 2012 at 6:24 PM #75
    lightninhopkins

    lightninhopkins

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    I'm running 64bit tests for sure. Even had a really proficient programmer make new kernels, and change tons of settings, but 13K was the max no matter what.

    The other test which I haven't done yet is geekbench for linux. It's possible the bios is only programmed/tweaked for windows right now. Since both macos and redhat are linux based, if they BOTH get low scores, I'll assume it's the bios. If linux ends up with the same as windows 40K score, I'll assume that Lion isn't ready for this chipset yet. Although it could be a bunch of other reasons, which I'm not smart enough to know of.

    Another good result with Cinebench CPU test, 24.5 points in win7, and 8 points in the mac version (same similar results, so we know it's not the geekbench app.

    [​IMG=full]
     
  6. Tutor

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    WolfPackPrime0
    CPU:
    4 x E5-4650s
    Graphics:
    6xGTX Titan Z Hydros
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, iMac, LC, Lisa, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 7, 2012 at 8:40 PM #76
    Tutor

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    WolfPackPrime0
    CPU:
    4 x E5-4650s
    Graphics:
    6xGTX Titan Z Hydros
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, iMac, LC, Lisa, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Low OSX scores dogged me until I did all of the following (I know others may have told you differently, but who are you going to trust?):
    0) Get PlistEditPro demo to edit files ending in ".plist" as set forth in nos. 3 and 5, below - download PlistEditPro from http://www.fatcatsoftware.com/plisteditpro/ .
    1) Make sure that in bios ACPI and HPET are Enabled and choose s3 for ACPI config. HPET is High Precision Event Timer. Also ensure that Turboboost, EIST (speedstep) and hyperthreading , as well as C (including C1E if that is available) and P and T states are all Enabled, to extent that they are exposed for setting in bios - Reboot and run Geeekbench 2 and Cinebench 11.5; if this cures the problem, go to step 7; if not, do the remainder of the steps;
    2) Make sure that, in your Extra folder, the correct DSDT.aml file is installed.
    3) Make the appropriate changes to info.plist found in FakeSMC.kext as set forth in post #'s 53-57, here; http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread. ... 421&page=3 ; and install it in your Extra/Extensions and System/Library/Extensions (S/L/E) folders; then bless each folder's content as set forth in post#54 there;
    4) Delete NullCPUPower Management.kext if you have it installed;
    5) Make sure that org.chameleon.Boot.plist (Lion) or smbios.plist (SL) (in your Extra folder) does not have any references to either 3,1 or 4,1 by changing them to 5,1 .
    6) Lastly, rebuild kext/boot cache with your chameleon installer, making sure that it does not at all install another unmodified version of the FakeSMC.kext file or another copy of the NullCPUPowerManagement.kext file. Rebuilding kext/boot cache will enable that modified FakeSMC.kext files to work correctly.
    7) Give us an update.


    Your getting very close to my OSX 24.7 CB 11.5 score.

    P.S. If you want any more help tweaking your system's bios, please PM me or post clear pics of each bios screen with user adjustable parameters other than just the date and time.
     
  7. Tutor

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    WolfPackPrime0
    CPU:
    4 x E5-4650s
    Graphics:
    6xGTX Titan Z Hydros
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, iMac, LC, Lisa, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 8, 2012 at 4:31 AM #77
    Tutor

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    WolfPackPrime0
    CPU:
    4 x E5-4650s
    Graphics:
    6xGTX Titan Z Hydros
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, iMac, LC, Lisa, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Justruss, I don't believe that the motherboard he's using allows for any overclocking. However, even if it did, the current E5s are locked down in every way possible, unlike the Nehalems and Westmeres. The best that you can do, even if the motherboard supports overclocking, is to push the BCLK 5-8%. The limitation is based on Intel's putting under CPU control DMI; so a larger BCLK push will adversely affect SATA, USB and the PCIe slots, none of which will allow the system to boot if stressed more than 5-8%. Maybe in the future Intel will release unlocked E5s or Ivy Bridges Xeons, but I don't hold out much hope. The market that they're designed for doesn't usually tweak systems.
     
  8. lightninhopkins

    lightninhopkins

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    Apr 8, 2012 at 9:43 PM #78
    lightninhopkins

    lightninhopkins

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    GTX 980
    @Tutor - thanks for all the information and directions. I can try this stuff later on today or tomorrow. I'll see how much of it I'm able to accomplish.

    And regarding the BIOS, there are limited options for anything CPU related. Even speedstep isn't listed in there. I'll do what I can do.
     
  9. Tutor

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    WolfPackPrime0
    CPU:
    4 x E5-4650s
    Graphics:
    6xGTX Titan Z Hydros
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, iMac, LC, Lisa, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 9, 2012 at 2:48 AM #79
    Tutor

    Tutor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Mobo:
    WolfPackPrime0
    CPU:
    4 x E5-4650s
    Graphics:
    6xGTX Titan Z Hydros
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    128K, 512K, Apple, Classic, Color Classic, iBook, iMac, LC, Lisa, Plus, Portable, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE, Workgroup Server
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Speedstep is aka EIST. Manual page 4-8 says its under Power Technology under CPU Power Management Configuration under CPU Configuration (Make sure hype-threading is Enabled) under the Advanced Menu. So is Turbo mode (Enable it), P (HW_All) and C-states (Enable for C3, C6 and C7 and set Package C State Limit to Auto. Also while there, set Energy Performance to Performance). Under QPI Configuration set QPI Link Frequency Select to 8.0 GT/s. Under ACPI Settings Menu under the Advanced Menu is ACPI Sleep State - set to s3, NUMA - disable it, and HPET - enable it (Manual page 4-23).
     
  10. celstark

    celstark

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Supermicro X9DAI
    CPU:
    E5-2670 (dual)
    Graphics:
    Quadro 4000
    Apr 9, 2012 at 5:37 PM #80
    celstark

    celstark

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Mobo:
    Supermicro X9DAI
    CPU:
    E5-2670 (dual)
    Graphics:
    Quadro 4000
    As you get things sorted out, please post the configuration details. I've got a very similar system coming in this week that was slated to be a Linux box. If I can have it dual-boot and tie in with our cluster of Mac Pros, I'd be a happy camper. Same X9DAI MB, 2670 CPUs, 64G to start with.
     

Share This Page