Contribute
Register

GTX 580. Help. (done everything I could)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Impact
CPU
i5-6600K
Graphics
GTX780Ti
I'll be using 3-way SLI GTX 580 on my hackintosh (mainly for gaming/gamedev in Windows, not really gonna be needing all that power in OS X), but I want to know how I might be able to get a GTX 580 working.

According to this:
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=8157&start=0
thread, GTX 580s are supported, but TonyMac's nVidia drivers are only for SNLeopard .6.6, not .6.8 .... does this mean I'll have to downgrade?

Tonymac says he's retired the drivers because nVidia updated theirs for mac, but there are NO drivers available from nVidia, for the GTX 580.

Help is appreciated!

Re: GTX 580. Help.

After reading a little bit, here's what I understand:

-The GTX 580 works in safe mode for most people it seems
before installing drivers it works normally?

-something known as a "fermi" driver (sorry, I'm a noob with these things) can be used to make the GTX 580 usable

-jesus ****ing christ about half of the stuff I'm reading makes no ****ing sense... I've done everything I could to find out, seriously need some help. And it's either the GTX 580s that I'm using or nothing.

buzzworm said:
Not for me. I followed the instructions on a clean install to a bare drive.

Here's what I did to install...

1. Set Bios to AHCI, etc.
2. type -x to boot in safe mode off of iBoot-GE disc because of GTX 580 would kernel panic the system.
3. Installed clean OS X 10.6.3
4. Rebooted to my Hackintosh HD.
5. Immediately updated to 10.6.5
6. Placed custom DSDT file on desktop (also renamed it to DSDT.aml)
7. Installed MultiBeast and selected the following
- UserDSDT
- System Utilities
- Advanced Options -> Kexts -> Audio -> LegacyHDA -> ALC889
- Advanced Options -> Kexts -> Disk -> JMicron36x (aka GSATA) ->
NO GRAPHIC ENABLERS SINCE USING GTX 580 - NVENABLER SEEMS TO CRASH SYSTEM AT BOOT
- Chameleon 2.0 RC5 PRE 643