Contribute
Register

i7-3930K Hackintosh vs Mac Pro - worth it for better Lightroom / Photoshop performance?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte UD5H Mobo
CPU
Intel 4770K
Graphics
ASUS GeForce GTX 660 OC
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
Hello all,

I have been reading this site's excellent material for some time now.

I am an avid photographer using LR 4.1 & PS CS5 on a regular basis. I have no need for gaming performance.

I am currently running Snow Leopard on a 3.0 GHz 8 core MacPro 1,1 with 24 GB RAM, an SSD, Radeon 5770 GPU, 3 disk RAID 0 image disks and large assortment of HDD's. I work with two Dell monitors 30 & 27 inch. My system currently scores a respectable 11,780 on Geekbench.

But despite maxing out the potential of my system, I find that my system is getting a little stodgy & slow these days. Applying a Topaz filter to a 21 MP image in Photoshop can take 1-2 minutes or more. LR 4.1 seems quite slow with lots of slider lag & slow image refresh. My workflow has really bogged down lately...

As there do not seem to be any good Mac Pro upgrade options right now, I am considering upgrading to an Intel Core i7-3930K system but wonder if it would be worth it when I see Geekbench scores with this processor scoring only ~ twice that of my current system. I wonder what the real life performance, using real applications would be like with such a system.

For those of you out there who have upgraded to a more powerful Intel i7 Hackintosh system, do you feel it's fast enough so that you do not have to wait for screen redraws & are LR 4.1 slider inputs snappy enough for you? Are you happy with the Hackintosh performance & do you think it would be worth it for me to take the Hackintosh Plunge?

Thanks for any feedback you might be able to give me.

- evan