Contribute
Register

First build, many questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone!

I'm a motion designer (After Effects, Cinema4D, video editing...) and I need a work station. I'm a noob at this, trying to make the right choices, so I'm trying to stick to the CustoMac Pro recommandations.

My basket so far:

Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
Intel Core i7-6700K (4.0GHz)
Corsair Hydro Series H60
Ballistix Sport LT white 64go (4 x 16 Go) DDR4 2400 MHz CL17

2x Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 Go
1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 SATA 6Gb/s 2 To
(+3 SATA cables I guess?)

Corsair RM650i 80PLUS Gold
Corsair Obsidian 450D Windowed

Questions:

1 - I'm buying and building this machine with a serious french shop called LDLC and they don't have the EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB I want. They have the MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti 6GB Golden Edition : Do you think it is a big issue with the hackintosh? I'm scared it won't work properly since it's not on THE LIST ...

2 - Is the Corsair Obsidian 450D Windowed a safe choice? More important: is the Corsair RM650i 80PLUS Gold okay? Because, again, it's not on the list! It's just the "i" in "RMi" that makes me doubt.

3 - Is having two SSD the right way to have a dual Windows MacOS boot?

4 - Any major issue so far?

Thank you so much for your answers. I have spent my whole day trying to build the best machine I could, and I'm really not good at computers, so thanks for your time and patience :)

Hi everyone!

I'm a motion designer (After Effects, Cinema4D, video editing...) and I need a work station. I'm a noob at this, trying to make the right choices, so I'm trying to stick to the CustoMac Pro recommandations.

My basket so far:

Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
Intel Core i7-6700K (4.0GHz)
Corsair Hydro Series H60
Ballistix Sport LT white 64go (4 x 16 Go) DDR4 2400 MHz CL17

2x Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 Go
1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 SATA 6Gb/s 2 To
(+3 SATA cables I guess?)

Corsair RM650i 80PLUS Gold
Corsair Obsidian 450D Windowed

Questions: