CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So, I'm new to building so take that into account when responding. I'm trying to get all of my ducks in a row and get my expectations where they ought to be.

I'm wanting to build a powerful system that kind of serves as a hub for everything, that is, if it is possible to build such a system. For starters, I would want it to:

• be used for web development, running multiple VMs.
  • serve as a central hub for automated backups, cloud storage like Sparkleshare, and also storage for home security.
  • run XBMC on a television while simultaneously working on other things (although this won't be the norm).

Is it possible to make this machine a HTPC and use it for all of these purposes simultaneously? Can I make use of two monitors while watching something on XBMC on a television? The alternative is using a Raspberry PI (which is what I'm doing now) to play XBMC and access the content through an NFS mount.

Thanks!

I would think that this is all very possible. It sounds like you'd be happiest with an i7 (quad-core with hyperthreading, so you'd have 8 threads) and lots of RAM for all your virtual machines.

I haven't used XBMC, but I like your Raspberry Pi idea -- using the Mac for storage and maybe transcoding. (You could keep Serviio running on the Mac, and use DLNA.)

I set up a Fusion Drive with a 120GB SSD and a 1TB hard drive....it's given my family lots of speedy storage space for pictures and videos without having to juggle things between two drives. That might be something that you'd like to use too.

Good luck!